Learn to Read with the Litkidz Reading Curriculum

II. EARLY READERS: ages 5 – 7 (two parts)

Part I: (assessment based)

  • Consonant Sounds
  • Short Vowel Sounds
  • Reading CVC words
  • Learning Sight Words

This curriculum is for beginning readers, who have competency in Phonemic awareness. The curriculum has a minimum of 10 sessions, and can be held twice a week for five weeks, or once a week for 10 weeks. 

Depending on the progress of the student, at the end of the 10 sessions, children would be able to recognize and say the sounds for some or all of the consonants and vowels, and read some CVC words.

Sample Books:

  • Sam Cat and Nat Rat
  • Ned and Fred
  • Len Bug and Jen Slug

 Part II

  • Recognize Word Families with Short Vowels
  • Read stories with word families
  • Create stories with word families
  • Sort Words into Word Families
  • Blending consonants and vowels into words
  • Sight words (continued)

The purpose of this curriculum is to reinforce the learning in Part 1, by approaching CVC words from a different angle, that of word families. While word families are taught in the first part, they are not emphasized. Here, they are the focus for both reading and writing (spelling).

This curriculum has 10 sessions, 2 sessions for each vowel. At the end of 10 sessions, children will recognize word families, and accurately add new words to a word family, spelling them correctly. 

(Click below for other class descriptions)

  1. EARLY LITERACY (age 5)
  2. EARLY READERS (ages 5 – 7): 2 parts
  3. EMERGING READERS (5 – 8): 3 parts